The Buddhic Essence: Ten Stages to Becoming a Buddha

The Buddhic Essence: Ten Stages to Becoming a Buddha

Elizabeth Clare Prophet

Language: English

Pages: 160


Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub

In The Buddhic Essence: Ten Stages to Becoming a Buddha, Elizabeth Clare Prophet gently traces the pathway that leads to Buddhahood. She does so in such a way that we can personally relate to the different stages and also see within them steps that we can accomplish in the course of our daily lives. The journey to Buddhahood is a journey not measured in distance or time. Its markers are self-knowledge and a yearning for something within that beckons the soul to take the next step in her spiritual journey.

What the Buddha Taught (Revised & Expanded Edition)

Buddhist Ethics: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions)

An End to Suffering: The Buddha in the World

The Open Road: The Global Journey of the Fourteenth Dalai Lama

Across Many Mountains: A Tibetan Family's Epic Journey from Oppression to Freedom

Jataka Tales of the Buddha: An Anthology, Volume 3




















temptation that we need to run away from. If we are unsure which of these a particular situation is, we can pray about it and give ourselves to God. And if we need it, we can seek counsel. Enduring our karma is such a necessity on the Path. The saints and bodhisattvas—which includes you and me becoming saints, you and me becoming bodhisattvas—learn to draw into the fiery vortex of the heart the energies of both personal and planetary karma that require transmutation. THE BUDDHA’S SERMON ON

the Germ of Buddhahood in them.”[1] Tibetan lama and scholar Geshe Ngawang Wangyal writes, “There exists in each living being the potential for attaining Buddhahood, called the Buddha-essence ..., the ‘legacy abiding within.’... This Buddha-essence ... is untainted by any defilement, existing as pure from the very beginning even though in the midst of afflictive emotions.”[2] One of Gautama’s most important legacies was his message to seek nothing outside of our self, to go within and become the

Buddha 144 times, pouring love and devotion to the Buddha as you repeat it. Give the earth-touching mudra along with it. This mudra signifies the Buddha’s unshakable, steadfast nature; it is associated with Gautama’s vanquishing of Mara on the eve of his complete enlightenment. To form the earth-touching mudra, sit and cup the left hand in the lap. With the right hand cupped and facing toward the floor, symbolically touch the earth. Give this mudra with the sense of being enfolded and

fall in midair. (The illusory pirates had vanished.) Miao Shan then asked Shan Ts’ai to walk, whereupon he discovered that he could walk normally and was no longer crippled. When he glanced into a pool of water, he saw that he was now handsome; his face, too, had been transformed. Convinced of Shan Ts’ai’s dedication, Miao Shan accepted him as a disciple and taught him the entire teaching of the Buddha. PRACTICAL REASONS TO WALK THE PATH We may not realize that we took our first steps on the

Suzuki writes, “Mahâyânism is not contented to make us mere transmitters or ‘hearers’ of the teachings of the Buddha, it wants to inspire with all the religious and ethical motives that stirred the noblest heart of Çâkyamuni [Gautama] to its inmost depths.”[6] Those who truly recognize that the Buddha-nature is present in all beings are filled with the desire to spread the teachings in order to awaken it in them. Buddhist teacher Nikkyo Niwano writes that “Shakyamuni himself became the Buddha by

Download sample