Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe: A hilarious, fast-paced tale about starting over (A Novel with Recipes)

Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe: A hilarious, fast-paced tale about starting over (A Novel with Recipes)

Jenny Colgan

Language: English

Pages: 432

ISBN: 1402281803

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


"A hilarious, fast-paced fantasy about starting over, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella. Absolutely adorable."―Booklist

Issy Randall can bake. No, Issy can create stunning, mouthwateringly divine cakes. So when she loses her desk job, she starts her own café and finds life can be tougher, and sweeter, than she ever dreamed.

After a childhood spent in her beloved Grampa Joe's bakery, Issy has undoubtedly inherited his talent. She's much better at baking than she is at filing so when she's laid off from her desk job, Issy decides to open her own little café. But she soon learns that her piece-of-cake plan will take all of her courage and confectionary talent to avert disaster.

Funny and sharp, Meet Me at the Cupcake Café is about how life might not always taste like you expect, but there's always room for dessert!

A smart, quirky contemporary cupcake book of recipes and friendship, fans of Sophie Kinsella, X and X will be heading for their mixers to create a story as sweet and complex as Issy's.

Other books by Jenny Colgan:

Meet Me At The Cupcake Café – "A hilarious, fast-paced fantasy about starting over, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella. Absolutely adorable."―Booklist
The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris – A heartwarming and bittersweet story of love lost and found
Sweetshop of Dreams – A charming story of nostalgic sweets and finding yourself in unexpected places

What readers are saying about Meet Me At The Cupcake Café:

"quirky and adorable!"

"a real guilty pleasure―with a little romance thrown in on the side!"

"Part Romantic Comedy, part Chick-lit... a charming story"

"This book is an excellent cupcake: light, full of flavour and with just the right amount of sweetness to make you smile."

"smart and funny"

"this is a definite must read, a real page turner."

What reviewers are saying about Meet Me At The Cupcake Café:

"[A] heartwarming story a la Bridget Jones' Diary... Colgan folds in a colorful cast of characters and whips up an easy, sweet read."―USA Today

"A funny novel about friendship, food and love... "―Kirkus

"A delightful story... warm, funny and well-written."―Fresh Fiction

"Absolutely adorable... charming... an endearing, delightful read"―Silver's Reviews

What everyone is saying about Jenny Colgan:

"[A] heartwarming story a la Bridget Jones' Diary... Colgan folds in a colorful cast of characters and whips up an easy, sweet read."―USA Today

"Absolutely adorable... charming... an endearing, delightful read"―Silver's Reviews

Der Ruf des Göttervogels: Roman (Costa-Rica-Saga, Band 3)

Can't Look Away

To Dance With the White Dog

Sway

The Light Fantastic (Discworld, Book 2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

about then.” Issy had seen photos of her grandparents’ wedding day. He’d been a handsome man, tall, with a thick head of curly hair and a shy smile. Her grandmother was a knockout. “And I said, ‘What’s your name then?’ although of course I knew perfectly well. And she said…” “Isabel,” said Issy. “Isabel,” said her grandfather. - - - Issy played with her skirt like a little girl. “But did you just know?” she asked forcefully. “I mean, did you just know straightaway?

brilliant,” said Issy. “My friends keep telling me it’s a terrible idea.” Caroline stared at her as if just realizing something. A thought struck her. “Of course my friends lie all the time,” she said. “They didn’t even tell me the Bastard was having an affair, even though they all knew about it.” Caroline swallowed painfully. “Do you know he takes her to lap dancing classes? With his own colleagues? On company expenses?” She let out a strangulated giggle. “Sorry. I’m so sorry. I’m not

their labels sticking out, that’s how you know you’re wearing the right clothes. And I couldn’t seem to convince him logically otherwise, so I decided to just, you know, play along till he figures it out. He should probably have grown out of that now, huh?” “And how’s he going to figure it out if you’ve got it all wrong?” asked Issy, smiling. “That is a very good point,” said Austin, and in one gesture he pulled off the sweater. Inadvertently he pulled up some of his forest-green shirt

shop was already clambering up the side of the bus—what had been the roof, but was now the side—and other people were anxiously shouting guidance to him. From inside the bus Issy could hear screaming; the driver looked unconscious. There was a scream from a woman halfway down the road. A young man—obviously a cycle courier, in skintight Lycra, now ripped, with a huge walkie-talkie still on his hip—was lying, eyeballs rolling, in the gutter, his arm at a very strange angle. Issy looked over

passing in the street would have wondered about the little oasis of sparkling light under the darkening sky. As old friends often do when they come together again, everyone grew quite tipsy quite quickly, so that by the time Austin had finally settled Darny with the babysitter and could consider leaving the house (crossing his fingers, and failing to mention to the babysitter that unless she had a PhD in dinosaurs she might be in for a rocky evening), Issy was pink in the face and entirely

Download sample

Download